Ask Questions About Nutrition and Celiac Disease

Do you have unanswered general nutrition questions about the gluten-free diet and lifestyle?

Image

Melinda Dennis MS, RDN, LDN

NCA Senior Nutrition Consultant
Image

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN

NCA Director of Education

Our dietitians are happy to answer your general nutrition questions about celiac disease. Please submit questions that are applicable to a general gluten-free audience. We regret that personal clinical questions (medical history, labs, supplements, etc.) cannot be addressed.

Time allowing, every effort will be made to answer all submitted questions. Some questions may be chosen to be anonymously included in the e-newsletter also posted on this website and/or the Gluten-Free Nation print magazine.

Ask The Dietitian

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Answers To Your Questions

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Melinda Dennis, NCA's Senior Consulting Dietitian or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. This information can be printed and used in consultation with your physician or dietitian. No liability is assumed by NCA, Ms. Dennis or her nutrition consulting service Delete the Wheat, LLC. or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Ask the Dietitian Categories

Couscous

Couscous

Q: Is couscous gluten-free? Answer Couscous is not gluten-free. Couscous is made from semolina which comes from durum wheat. It would not be safe for someone with celiac disease or other gluten-related disorders. I use quinoa instead of couscous in recipes/salads etc. It works very well as a replacement and has the added benefit of being a very nutritious whole

Neurological disorders

Neurological disorders

Q: What are the neurological disorders that may accompany celiac disease? Answer Neurological disorders are common among people with celiac disease (CD). They can be present at time of diagnosis or can be a complication of celiac disease over time. Neurological disorders are likely due to nutrient deficiencies as a result of malabsorption and inflammation in celiac disease. Some neurological disorders may

Elderberry syrup

Elderberry syrup

Q: Is it safe to take an elderberry syrup supplement when you have celiac disease? Answer Elderberry strengthens the immune system which could potentially be a problem for people with autoimmune diseases such as celiac disease. Always ask your doctor before using any supplements that stimulate the immune system because there is a risk that it might trigger your autoimmune

Gluten-Free School Meals During COVID-19

Gluten-Free School Meals During COVID-19

Q: Are schools required to provide GF meals during the COVID-19 pandemic? The USDA’s Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) has enabled the Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) and National School Lunch Program Seamless Summer Option (SSO) across all 50 states, as well as DC, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands, to serve non-congregate meals at school sites during school

GF Hospital Food

GF Hospital Food

Q: Do you have any suggestions for me to get GF food while I am in the hospital? Hospitals are required to provide you with gluten-free (GF) foods during your stay. Celiac disease (CD) is considered a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and as such they are required by law to accommodate the GF diet. For a

Checking if supplements are gluten-free

Checking if supplements are gluten-free

Q: Do I need to check that my supplements are gluten-free? Yes, you should always check the gluten-free (GF) status of anything you are ingesting and that includes supplements. Gluten may be used as a binder or filler in supplements. Always make sure that the supplement is labeled GF. Supplements that are labeled GF have to contain less than 20