Gluten-Free School Meals During COVID-19

Q: Are schools required to provide GF meals during the COVID-19 pandemic? The USDA’s Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) has enabled the Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) and National School Lunch Program Seamless Summer Option (SSO) across all 50 states, as well as DC, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands, to serve non-congregate meals at school sites during school …

GF Hospital Food

Q: Do you have any suggestions for me to get GF food while I am in the hospital? Hospitals are required to provide you with gluten-free (GF) foods during your stay. Celiac disease (CD) is considered a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and as such they are required by law to accommodate the GF diet. For a …

Checking if supplements are gluten-free

Q: Do I need to check that my supplements are gluten-free? Yes, you should always check the gluten-free (GF) status of anything you are ingesting and that includes supplements. Gluten may be used as a binder or filler in supplements. Always make sure that the supplement is labeled GF. Supplements that are labeled GF have to contain less than 20 …

What to eat after being glutened

Q: What are the best foods to eat after being “glutened”? Getting exposed to gluten is no fun and can happen to any of us despite our best efforts. Unfortunately, there is not much one can do once gluten has accidentally been ingested, but here are some tips that might be helpful for recovery following a gluten exposure: Just a …

Weight gain

Q: Why do I weigh more since going gluten-free? A side-effect of going on the gluten-free (GF) diet is sometimes weight gain. It could be due to several things: Here are some tips to stay healthy on a GF diet: Decreasing sugar: https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-questions/how-can-i-find-gluten-free-items-with-less-sugar/ Decreasing salt: https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-questions/reducing-salt-and-sugar-in-gf-foods/ How to increase fiber in the GF diet: Eat less processed GF foods and …

Playing on wheat straw

Q:  I recently became aware that my child’s after school program used wheat straw in their outdoor play area. I doubt parents think of straw as a problem in the outdoor environment. I did not see much on the internet about this type of exposure. I’m guessing many parents would not think of this. Great question, I can understand your …

Maltodextrin

Q: Is maltodextrin really gluten-free? Maltodextrin can sound scary if you are on a gluten-free diet, because it sounds like it would be made from barley malt. However, it does not contain barley. Maltodextrin is a type of partially hydrolyzed starch that is often used as a thickener in foods. It can be made from wheat, but is almost always …

Assisted Living Facilities and GF Meals

Q: What is the best approach to take in regard to the gluten-free diet in considering a move to an assisted living facility?  Many offer a meal plan and that can be a problem for a person with celiac disease. So many will respond “oh our chef is really great and he/she can handle this request.” It can be very …

Is caraway the same as rye?

Q: Is caraway the same as rye? Caraway/caraway seed is naturally gluten-free. It belongs to the same family as fennel and dill. Caraway seed is often used as a spice in rye bread, but is not related to rye and is safe for people with celiac disease. Just make sure to read labels carefully to make sure it does not …

Eating GF when traveling abroad

Q: I’ll be traveling abroad three times in the next year and while I’m excited, I feel worried about food availability while traveling. I really don’t want to get sick while in a foreign country. Do you have any tips for traveling with celiac disease? Traveling while staying gluten-free (GF) can be a daunting task, but is possible with a …