Are artificial flavors and colors gluten free?

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN
Q: I know that natural flavoring may contain gluten, but what about artificial flavoring and coloring. Are they gluten-free?

Answer


Artificial flavorings and artificial colorings contain chemical compounds and are considered gluten free. However, note that some people may react to artificial flavors and/or colors for different reasons such as sensitivities and/or allergies.

As a general guideline, I always recommend that you only consume foods that are labeled gluten free (unless they are plain natural unprocessed GF whole foods). Foods that are labeled gluten free have to adhere to the FDA limit of 20 parts per million of gluten, which is considered a safe concentration for those with celiac disease.

Confused about other food ingredients? Check out our helpful list of confusing ingredients here:

https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-resources/confusing-gluten-free-diet-ingredients/

Read my answer on natural flavorings here:

https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-questions/do-natural-flavorings-contain-gluten/

Read more on how to do product research here:

https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-questions/list-of-gf-foods/

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 59 Times, 1 Visit today