Are canned vegetables, fruits & juices gluten-free?

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN

Q: Are canned vegetables, fruits & juices gluten-free?

Answer


Most plain canned vegetables, fruits and juices are safe. Canned fruits, veggies and juices sometimes have added ingredients and have been somewhat processed. Always read the ingredient label carefully. It can also be helpful to look any allergen statement.

Fresh whole fruits and veggies should be fine because they have not been processed and should be gluten-free in their natural state. Just make sure to wash them before consuming.

Note that gluten-containing grains have been found in lentils and beans. It is recommended to pick through dry beans and lentils on a cookie sheet and rinse them, as well as rinse any canned beans or lentils regardless of them being labeled gluten-free. You can read more here: https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-questions/certified-gluten-free-beans-grains/

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 571 Times, 2 Visits today