Are soy products ok?

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN

Q:  Are soy products ok to eat when you have celiac disease?


Soy is naturally gluten-free but some soy products contain other gluten-containing ingredients.

Soy and soy products are fine to consume as long as they are gluten-free and providing you do not have a soy sensitivity or allergy. Soy is a bean and is naturally gluten-free.

However, some soy products often contain gluten such as:

  • Soy sauces
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • Miso
  • Soy-based meat substitutes

Always read labels carefully and choose products that are labeled gluten-free, as those are required to contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

If you have any symptoms after consuming soy, talk to your doctor about a possible soy sensitivity or allergy.

Reviewed October 14, 2022.

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 19406 Times, 3 Visits today