Q: I’ve seen recipes with gluten-free vanilla and gluten-free baking powder and gluten-free confectionary sugar. Do these products or some brands contain gluten? Thanks.
The risk with some baking powders and confectionary sugars is that they may contain wheat starch or wheat flour. Make sure to always read all ingredients carefully. I recommend using products that say gluten-free on the label, as they are required to adhere to the FDA requirement of containing less than 20 ppm of gluten.
Reviewed October 14, 2022.
Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.