Do Natural Flavorings Contain Gluten?

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN
Q: Do I have to worry about natural flavorings? Do they contain gluten?

Answer


If a food is labeled gluten-free you do not have to worry about natural flavorings, however if the food is not labeled gluten-free then you need to investigate further. The best way is to call the manufacturer directly and ask about natural flavorings. If they contain wheat they have to be disclosed on the label, however if they contain malt/barley or rye it does not have to be disclosed on the label, therefore it is important to contact the manufacturer and ask.

Artificial flavorings contain chemical compounds and are considered gluten-free. However, note that some people may react to artificial flavors and/or colors for different reasons.

In general, I always recommend that you only consume foods that are labeled gluten-free. Foods that are labeled gluten-free have to adhere to the FDA limit of 20 parts per million of gluten, which is considered a safe concentration for those with celiac disease.

Confused about other food ingredients? Check out our helpful list of confusing ingredients here:

https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-resources/confusing-gluten-free-diet-ingredients/

Read more on how to do product research here:

https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-questions/list-of-gf-foods/

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 314 Times, 1 Visit today