Glucose syrup from wheat in a gluten-free product

1
Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN
Q:  I just bought a product that is labeled gluten-free, but it has glucose syrup listed saying it is from wheat. How can it be labeled gluten-free?

Answer


Glucose syrup is considered safe even when derived from wheat, barley or rye. That is because the process used to produce glucose syrup renders the starting material to contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten, which is considered a safe concentration for those with celiac disease. Although it can be confusing to see wheat on the label of a gluten-free product, glucose syrup is considered safe regardless of starting material.

The following are considered gluten-free even when derived from wheat:

Citric acid

Distilled alcohols

Distilled vinegar

Glucose syrup

You can read more about confusing ingredients here:
https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-resources/confusing-gluten-free-diet-ingredients/

Reviewed October 21, 2022.

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 547 Times, 3 Visits today