Is caraway the same as rye?

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN

Q: Is caraway the same as rye?

Answer


Caraway/caraway seed is naturally gluten-free. It belongs to the same family as fennel and dill. Caraway seed is often used as a spice in rye bread, but is not related to rye and is safe for people with celiac disease. Just make sure to read labels carefully to make sure it does not contain any added ingredients.

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 95 Times, 4 Visits today