Is locust bean/carob gum gluten free?

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN
Q: Is locust bean/carob gum gluten free?

Answer


Yes, locust bean gum (also known as carob bean gum) is naturally gluten free. It is derived from the seeds from the carob tree. Locust bean gum is a food additive often used as a thickener and stabilizer in foods (1).

One thing to keep in mind about locust bean gum is that it may cause gastrointestinal symptoms such as gas, bloating and diarrhea if eaten in large quantities. There is a similar issue with other gums such as guar gum and xanthan gum.

Related post:

https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-questions/does-xanthan-gum-contain-gluten/

Reference:

  1. US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). FDA Website: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/CFRSearch.cfm?fr=184.1343 Updated March 29, 2022.

Reviewed October 21, 2022.

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 184 Times, 1 Visit today