Is there gluten in corn?

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN
Q: I have heard there is gluten in corn, is this true?


Corn is naturally gluten free. The protein in corn is sometimes referred to as “corn gluten” but it is not harmful to those with celiac disease. However, I recommend to always read labels carefully, and to always make sure your corn-based flours such as corn flour, cornmeal, masa and cornstarch are labeled gluten free as they could have had cross-contact with gluten-containing grains during processing. Plain fresh corn and frozen corn should be fine.

Reviewed October 21, 2022.

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 7636 Times, 4 Visits today