Is vinegar gluten-free?

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN

Q:  Is vinegar gluten-free?

Answer


Most vinegars are gluten-free. Some examples of gluten-free vinegars include:

  • Apple cider vinegar
  • Distilled vinegar/grain vinegar/spirit vinegar/white vinegar
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Wine vinegar/grape vinegar

Note that plain distilled vinegars are gluten-free even when made from gluten-containing grains. Gluten is removed during the distillation process rendering the final product gluten-free.

Malt vinegar, which is usually made from barley but may also be made from rye  and called rye vinegar, is not gluten-free. Malt or rye vinegar is not safe for those with celiac disease. It is not distilled and contains gluten.

Other vinegars that may contain gluten include:

  • Flavored vinegars – may contain malt or wheat, read the ingredient label carefully
  • Asian rice vinegars - may contain wheat, will be listed on the ingredient label

Reference:

Thompson T. Vinegar. Gluten Free Dietitian Website:

http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vinegar/

Accessed August 22, 2019.

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 222 Times, 2 Visits today