Is whey gluten-free?

Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN
Q: Is whey gluten-free?

Answer


Yes, whey is a milk protein and is naturally gluten-free. Pure whey should be safe on the gluten-free diet. However, always read the label and confirm GF status on whey powders as other ingredients are often added.

Another thing to note is that since whey is a milk protein it may not be suitable for those who have a sensitivity to dairy protein or a milk allergy. However, whey is generally low in lactose, and may be tolerated by those with lactose intolerance depending on sensitivity and the amount of lactose present.

Reviewed and updated October 21, 2022.

Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for personalized medical advice or replace any medical advice provided directly to you by your health care provider. No liability is assumed by the NCA or Katarina Mollo, MEd, RDN, LDN by providing this information.

Visited 4029 Times, 3 Visits today