NCA News

Choose from below options to filter your posts
  • nca-virtual-5k
    NCA has made the decision to cancel our IN-PERSON National Celiac 5k due to the COVID-19.  HOWEVER, May is Celiac Awareness Month and the VIRTUAL RUN/WALK WILL GO ON AS PLANNED! We are not promoting gathering with others for a walk or run at this time, however, would like to encourage individual engagement and social media participation on May 30th!  Please consider signing up to be a virtual runner. We apologize for the inconvenience with this decision, but we want to make sure we keep everyone safe and healthy. 
  • Some cans of Vietti Ancho Chicken Chili with Beans & Porter Ale have a gluten-free label. However, the product contains porter ale and lists malts and wheat as sub ingredients. The manufacturer is working with the USDA on this issue. Click here to read more. Buckhead Meat and Seafood is recalling some frozen flounder stuffed with seafood because it contains wheat, soy, milk, fish or eggs that is not identified on the packaging. Flounder Stuffed with Seafood was sold to a limited number of consumers between April 1, 2020 and April 16, 2020 at various locations across the Harris County,
  • This month's answered questions: Is it safe to take an elderberry syrup supplement? What neurological disorders may accompany celiac disease? Is couscous gluten-free? Do you have unanswered general nutrition questions about the gluten-free diet and lifestyle? Our dietitians are happy to answer your general nutrition questions about celiac disease. Please submit questions that are applicable to a general gluten-free audience. We regret that personal clinical questions (medical history, labs, supplements, etc.) cannot be addressed. Time allowing, every effort will be made to answer all submitted questions.  Click Here to Ask a Question
  • Q: Is couscous gluten-free? Answer Couscous is not gluten-free. Couscous is made from semolina which comes from durum wheat. It would not be safe for someone with celiac disease or other gluten-related disorders. I use quinoa instead of couscous in recipes/salads etc. It works very well as a replacement and has the added benefit of being a very nutritious whole grain. Just make sure that the quinoa is labeled gluten-free. You can read more about quinoa here: Note: This information is provided by NCA and Katarina Mollo MEd, RDN, LDN, NCA's Director of Education. This information is meant for educational
  • Q: What are the neurological disorders that may accompany celiac disease? Answer Neurological disorders are common among people with celiac disease (CD). They can be present at time of diagnosis or can be a complication of celiac disease over time. Neurological disorders are likely due to nutrient deficiencies as a result of malabsorption and inflammation in celiac disease. Some neurological disorders may resolve or improve with a gluten-free diet, others will not (1). These neurological disorders are the more common ones associated with CD (1, 2): Neuropathy (tingling in extremities) Ataxia (affects motor control and coordination) Dementia/impaired cognitive function Seizure disorders Restless legs syndrome
  • Q: Is it safe to take an elderberry syrup supplement when you have celiac disease? Answer Elderberry strengthens the immune system which could potentially be a problem for people with autoimmune diseases such as celiac disease. Always ask your doctor before using any supplements that stimulate the immune system because there is a risk that it might trigger your autoimmune symptoms. Although there is not a lot of research available on immunostimulants and autoimmune disease, immunostimulatory herbs have been found to modulate cytokines. (1) Cytokines regulate things such as immunity and inflammation. A study also found that immunostimulatory herbs can
  • Researchers at Clemson University are looking into creating glutenases that can withstand high temperatures as a way to help people digest gluten proteins. This resarch looked into Refractory Celiac Disease: What Should We Be Doing Different? This article discusses Can Gluten Cause Anxiety? During the COVID-19 pandemic, the FDA is relaxing some regulations for restaurants, food manufacturers, producers and retail establishments. Under this new guidance, the nutrition facts label will no longer be required, but the ingredients statement and allergen information are still required. Wheat must still be identified as an allergen, but barley, rye, and (common) oats are never
  • Videos Dr. Alessio Fasano addresses more questions relating to COVID-19 in this video: Amy Keller, RD, shares tips on eating GF while in the hospital: Here are some GF diet tips from the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center: Webinars The Canadian Celiac Association is hosting two webinars this month: Could it be celiac? Tuesday, May 26 at 7:30pm Eastern Join Dr. Mohsin Rashid, MD, Med, pediatric gastroenterologist, Dalhousie University to learn more about diagnosis and management of celiac disease. Registration link: Gluten Free 101 Getting Started on the gluten-free diet Thursday, May 21, 2020 6:30pm Eastern Registration link: